I. Can’t. Move.

I made it. In 5 days, I drove from Virginia to Memphis, then Oklahoma City, then Albuquerque, then Lake Havasu City, then California. I saw Graceland, the most offensive Native American “trading posts” I could imagine, a lake in the middle of the desert (sorry Mexico).

I got to my destination in California two days ago, actually. I dropped my dog off at a local kennel, made it to my host’s house, and sat down. I really just sat there for hours after I got in, couldn’t move. Yesterday, he and I took a driving tour of his city, and I sort of fell in love with it in spite of myself.

Today? I’m back to sitting down. I can’t make myself get off the couch. Whether I just can’t stand the idea of getting into my Jeep again yet, or I’m adjusting to the time zone shifts, or I’m just having a lazy day I don’t know. I do know I’m hungry and cannot even muster the strength to go to the grocery store.

I’m sure I’ll work up the energy eventually. Tomorrow, I’m taking a drive up the coast to explore California for the first time by myself. I just hope I can move at all.

Leave a Reply

