2014, Here I Come!

Tis the season to declare what we expect from ourselves in the coming year. Some call them resolutions, others call them goals. Whatever you want to call it, here are the things I intend to accomplish in 2014.

Suck Less. I know, this seems like a negative way to start my planning. Here’s the deal: You know how we all have an inner voice who is incredibly nasty to us? Well, mine tells me I suck. All the time. So, this intention is twofold. On one hand, I will do everything in my life with more dedication, which means I will accomplish everything more fully. On the other, I will accept the idea that I suck less often. Which leads me to… 

Observe the voices in my head the way I do everyone else. I am the type of person who hears not just what people around me say, but the motivations and emotions behind what they say. But when it comes to the voices inside my head, I’m not as discerning. The voice who jumps to negative conclusions, the one who thinks I’m terrible at life, the one who tells me I’m not enough? That tailhole I take at face value. Well, no more. I’m giving myself (and my voices) the same examination I’ve given everyone else for all these years.

Run a Spartan Race. I signed up for a Super Spartan on April 5, my dad’s birthday. I can think of no better way to honor dad’s life than to live out loud.

Run 50 miles in races. This includes the Spartan Race, of course, but mostly I’ll be just running. I have the Tinker Bell Half Marathon in January, the Glass Slipper Challenge (10k on Saturday, half marathon on Sunday) in February and the Spartan Race in April. After that, I will need about 10 more miles of races through the end of the year.

Learn to swim. This is tied to the Spartan Race as well. I’m short, by Spartan standards, so I need to know I can make it across water elements the taller Spartans could walk or bob across. Don’t get me wrong — I won’t drown or anything. But I really don’t know how to swim freestyle consistently, and it’s time to learn.

Let go of superstitions. As long as I can remember, I’ve lived with superstition. When I spill salt, I toss some over my shoulder. When I split the pole with a friend, I always say “bread and butter.” When someone says something amazing is going to happen (or something bad will stop happening), I knock on wood. I put my right shoe on first, hate to land on my left foot at the bottom of the stairs. You get the picture. Well, it’s time for all this to stop. Like the voices in my head who run me down, superstitions add anxiety to life. I have enough anxiety — I won’t let arbitrary rules from generations ago pile on anymore.

Visit a new place. This is an intention I set for myself every year. In 2013, I managed this in spades, and I hope to do more of the same in 2014.

There you have it. I wish you a wonderful 2014 full of intention, determination and fun.

One thought on “2014, Here I Come!

  1. Pingback: I’m keeping my head above water. And that’s the problem. | Wise in health

Leave a Reply

