What a difference a year (or so) makes

Ok, so I haven’t blogged much — at all — in the last year. A lot of life has happened in that year, and while that isn’t a good excuse for not honoring my commitment to keeping up with my family’s health, I do have a bunch to report.

First and foremost, there’s a new Wise! Baby M is a healthy, adorable, precocious little 3-month-old now. She’s the main reason my health has changed so much, along with the rest of my life! She’s also the reason I’m starting back to blogging again. The health of an infant (and her mommy) is constantly changing, and I hope to keep up with tracking how we’re both adjusting.

Speaking of adjustments, we’ve moved! We’re back on the East coast, closer to the Wise family and our tribe of adopted family. Baby M’s father has chosen not to be in the picture right now, in case you’re wondering, and that’s ok. I’ve always said that all mothers should be prepared to be single mothers, regardless of their situation when they have their children. I’m no different, and I’m honored to have the chance to be this precious child’s mommy every day.

Looking back, I wish I’d been blogging about my pregnancy. Maybe someday I’ll summarize some of those experiences, but for now I’m going to focus on the present. I’m still working for myself, and this adventure in parenting aligns perfectly with that. So, life is all about learning a new town (again), figuring out our schedules and, of course, finding my way back to being the athletic, healthy eater I want my child to see as her role model. My body is finally ready to take on challenges. Here’s to a brand new life with a beautiful baby!

 

Leave a Reply

